Pioneering work

Laureaat Freedom from Fear Award 2010

Gareth Evans Laureaat Freedom from Fear Award 2010

As Foreign Minister of Australia Evans was one of the main drafters of the peace treaty between the government ofCambodiaand the Khmer Rouge in 1991, as well as the Chemical Weapons Convention, ratified by fifty states and effective since 1997.


Between 2000 and 2009 he chaired the International Crisis Group and co-chaired the UN International Commission on Intervention and State Sovereignty (ICISS), which produced the 2001 report The Responsibility to Protect. He served on the Panel on Threats, Challenges and Change as advisor to the UN’s Secretary General.


In 2008 the Australian government appointed Evans and the former Foreign Minister of Japan, Yoriko Kawaguchi, as chair of the International Commission on Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament, founded jointly by both countries. This appointment involved him closely in the negotiations withIraqand North-Korea.


Evans has published nine books on foreign policy, international relations and human rights. In 2009 he contributed with Desmond Tutu, Sir Bob Geldof and Sir Richard Branson to the documentary Soldiers of Peace, produced by Michael Douglas.