Roosevelt Organisations

Roosevelt Foundation

The Roosevelt Foundation is a private foundation established in 1982 to organize the Four Freedoms Awards ceremony in Middelburg, the Netherlands and for that purpose cooperates with the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute in Hyde Park, New York. Together with the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute our mission is to inform new generations of the ideals and achievements of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt and to inspire the application of their spirit of optimism and innovation to the solution of current problems.


Han Polman, Chair
Ton Brandenbarg, vice-Chair
Hans Rijkse, Treasurer
Tijo Collot d'Escury
Barbara Oomen
Marieke van Schaik
Simone Weimans
Loes Mulder
Wilmy Nevels-Gouverneur, Secretary


Paul Huijts - Secretary-General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Dick Schoof - Secretary-General of the Ministry of Safety and Justice
Christoffer Jonker - Director of the King’s Office
Dorine Manson - Managing Director Nationale Postcode Loterij
Dick Boer -  Former CEO Ahold/Delhaize

Special advisors

Lard Friese - CEO AEGON N.V.
Pieter de Gooijer - Ambassador of the Netherlands in France
Hans Wijers - Chairman of the Board ING
Alex van Heeren - investor, businessman and honorary consul

Financial statements



Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute

The Roosevelt Institute is a nonprofit organization devoted to carrying forward the legacy and values of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt by developing progressive ideas and bold leadership in the service of restoring America’s promise of opportunity for all. 

In cooperation with the Theodore Roosevelt Association and the provincial government of Zeeland, the province from which the Roosevelts emigrated to the New World in the 17th century, the Roosevelt Institute encourages the study of American history abroad through its support of the Roosevelt Study Center in Middelburg, which opened in September 1986 as a living memorial to Theodore, Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt.

Board of directors Roosevelt Institute

Anna Eleanor Roosevelt - Board Chair
Lisa Cook - Vice Chair
Wole Coaxum - Treasurer
Felicia Wong - President and CEO

The full board of the Roosevelt Institute can be viewed via the link below: