Roosevelt Stichting

The Roosevelt Stichting is a private foundation established in 1982 to organize the Four Freedoms Awards ceremony in Middelburg, the Netherlands and for that purpose cooperates with the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute in Hyde Park, New York.


Together with the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute our mission is to inform new generations of the ideals and achievements of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt and to inspire the application of their spirit of optimism and innovation to the solution of current problems.




Han Polman, Chair

Ton Brandenbarg, vice-Chair

Hans Rijkse, Treasurer

Rob Meines

Hein van Ameijden

Geert van Maanen

Tijo Collot d'Escury

Pieter Jan Mersie, Secretary





Renée Jones-Bos, Secretary-General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Pieter Cloo, Secretary-General of the Ministry of Safety and Justice

Chris Breedveld, director of the King’s Office

Alexander van Heeren, entrepreneur

Hans Wijers 


More information

The policy of the Roosevelt Stichtig and financial information can be found in these documents (in Dutch):


“Freedom from Fear,” Norman Rockwell, 1943.
Oil on canvas, 45 3/4” x 35 1/2”
Story illustration for “The Saturday Evening Post,” March 13, 1943
Norman Rockwell Museum Collections.
©1943 SEPS: Curtis Publishing, Indianapolis, IN