Welcome to the Four Freedoms Awards website

The 2014 Four Freedoms Awards Laureates are known:


The International Four Freedoms Award 2014 will be awarded to The International Committee of the Red Cross and The International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent.


Maryam Durrani will receive the Four Freedoms Award for Freedom of Speech

HRH Prince El Hassan Bin Talal of Jordan will receive the Four Freedoms Award for Freedom of Worship

Dr. Hawa Abdi Diblaawe will receive the Four Freedoms Award for Freedom from Want

Malala Yousafzai will receive the Frour Freedoms Award for Freedom from Fear.


Read all about this year's ceremony in our news section.


Who deserves to come to the Awards Ceremony?


Do you know someone who deserves to attend the 2014 Awards Ceremony?

Then watch this short video (Dutch).


Ken jij iemand die het verdient om bij de uitreiking van de Four Freedoms Awards aanwezig te zijn?

Kijk dan naar deze video en meld hem of haar aan.



Messages from two of our presenters

Pernille La Lau, presenter of the Dutch TV Programme 'Koffietijd' and representative of Stichting Vluchteling, will present the award to Dr. Hawa Abdi Diblaawe. Watch her motivation to do so via this link (Dutch).


The Dutch band Bløf will present the award to Malala Yousafzai. They tell why they are honoured to do so in this video (Dutch).


If civilization is to survive, we must cultivate the science of human relationships - the ability of all peoples, of all kinds, to live together, in the same world at peace.
Franklin D. Roosevelt

You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You must do the thing which you think you cannot do.
Eleanor Roosevelt

On January 6, 1941, President Franklin D. Roosevelt, proclaimed in his State of the Union that if democracy is to survive and flourish, people everywhere in the world are entitled to four human rights: freedom of speech and expression, freedom of worship, freedom from want and freedom from fear.

In order to keep the legacy of FDR alive, the Roosevelt Institute honors outstanding citizens who have demonstrated a lifelong commitment to these ideals every year. The impressive ceremonies that mark the awarding of the Four Freedoms medals are held alternately in Hyde Park, New York and Middelburg, the Netherlands, where the Roosevelt Stichting, a private foundation, is responsible for organising the ceremony in the even-numbered years.