Roosevelt Organisations

Roosevelt Stichting

The Roosevelt Stichting is a private foundation established in 1982 to organize the Four Freedoms Awards ceremony in Middelburg, the Netherlands and for that purpose cooperates with the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute in Hyde Park, New York. Together with the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute our mission is to inform new generations of the ideals and achievements of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt and to inspire the application of their spirit of optimism and innovation to the solution of current problems.



Han Polman, Chair
Ton Brandenbarg, vice-Chair
Hans Rijkse, Treasurer
Rob Meines
Hein van Ameijden
Geert van Maanen
Tijo Collot d'Escury
Pieter Jan Mersie, Secretary



Renée Jones-Bos, Secretary-General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Pieter Cloo, Secretary-General of the Ministry of Safety and Justice
Chris Breedveld, director of the King’s Office
Alexander Wynaendts, CEO Aegon
Alexander van Heeren, entrepreneur
Hans Wijers


More information
The policy of the Roosevelt Stichtig and financial information can be found in these documents (in Dutch):


Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute

The work of the Roosevelt Institute represents a continuing dedication to the faith Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt so superbly embodied — faith in human freedom, in social purpose, in the inexhaustible strength of democracy, and in the abiding capacity of man to control the world he has created.


In cooperation with the Theodore Roosevelt Association and the provincial government of Zeeland, the province from which the Roosevelts emigrated to the New World in the 17th century, the Roosevelt Institute encourages the study of American history abroad through its support of the Roosevelt Study Center in Middelburg, which opened in September 1986 as a living memorial to Theodore, Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt.


Anna Eleanor Roosevelt, Chair
George L. Knox, vice-Chair
Alison Overseth, vice-Chair
William R. Griffith, Treasurer
William J. vanden Heuvel Founder & Chair Emeritus
Felicia Wong President and CEO